Saturday, October 18, 2008

New Kids on the Block!

I know, I know. Most of you are shaking your head and asking why would any ever go and see these guys after how many years? I guess when I was about 10 or so they hit it big and every girl was totally in love with them and probalby had every poster, shirt and big button of theirs. They were the first "boy band" I grew up with. They never came close enough for us to go see them and I don't know that my parents would have taken us if they had come close enough.

So Friday night I lived out my childhood dream of seeing the first time ever. And let me say, it was the best chessiest concert ever. Donnie Wahlberg was "bedazzled" on every hat, bet, pants, and shirt he wore. There was more crotch grabbing and video of Donnie Wahlberg grabbing his than with Michael Jackson. Joey is still the cutest and Jordan still tries to hit the high notes and this time, he needs to not try.

They sang every one of their old songs and a few new ones.

I loved every minute of it and would go see them again in another 15-20 years if they decide to come back.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Month 5 of Half-Ironman Training

Here we are again. Another month down and only a few weeks left to go. I'm finally rounding my last week of long rides and runs. Well long rides at least. This last weekend I started my run and got to mile 3 or so and started having bad knee pains. My assumption...IT band problems again but now in the opposite leg. So I came home and iced, used the foam roller, stretched, took some meds and nothing. Monday I swam thinking I could "work" it out or something. Tuesday night I went to spin and talked with PT Vicky. She met with me after class and threw down the pain! OUCH! I am tender to the touch today but I can at least move and walk with no problems. I went to see my chiropractor for more work on it and it hurt like hell. So no running this week says the two Dr's. Fine by me. I just need this fixed by November 9th or its an aquabike for me.

I've worked so hard and logged many hours to get to this point and I really, really don't want to do an aquabike unless I have to. What a disappointment that would be after all I've done.

Month 5 has started off a little rough but I think we can have it back on track in a week or so.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Half Ironman Training - Month 4

My goodness it's been awhile since I blogged about training. I'm on my 4th month of training for my first half ironman and this week was hard on me. My back has been hurting me and I did lunges on Saturday after a spin workout and my legs were screaming at me on my 10 mile run. I was suppose to run 13 and I'm lucky I made it 10 miles. Oh well...a girl's gotta do what a girl's gotta do.

I just need to keep my runs between 10-13 miles and my rides around 50 miles from now until November and I should be good. I need to focus on open water swimming and get some distance swims in. It seems to never end with training.

All in all the last few months have been mentally tough more than anything. I've questioned why I'm putting myself through this and if I really want to do an Ironman bad enough. Then yesterday I watched a video of Ironman Hawaii and listened to Team Hoyt(inspirational father/ son team). It made me almost cry and and I had to remind myself that if this father at I'm assuming almost 60 years old, can pull his son in a raft on a 2.4 mile swim, and push him on a bike and push him in a wheel chair on a 26.2 mile run, then dang it, I can too. Why am I complaining about just having to do it on my own? They are true inspiration to watch.

Monday, August 25, 2008

Sweet and Twisted...


On Sunday I competed in my first women's only triathlon at Pace Bend Park here in Austin, TX. Let me just say it started out to be a great day. I had my Xanax the night before and was able to get a good breakfast down. I got dressed loaded up the gear and we headed out. No big deal.

We get there and get up to the race site and I go to rack my bike with everyone else and well there are not enough spaces to rack with the rest of T3...hello...we told the race director how many of us that were signed up. Oh well. I went on and just racked my bike on the next row.

We all then head down to the water to watch the race start. Charles and Ester volunteered to take our shoes and flip-flops over to the swim exit since we had to run on some rocks and grass to get to our bikes.

The waves start. Finally my wave gets to go. I positioned myself in the middle of the pack as last time I started in the front I got swam over. So I get going and two hateful girls infront of me are just swimming slow as ever. I keep hitting one of them and she finally sits up and makes a foul comment to me. I said well swim faster. I tried to go wide on either side and they wouldn't let me so I dropped the arm as hard as I could and finally swam over them while slugging them in the process. My gosh...a cat fight in the water.

I get out with muddy feet and head for my tennis shoes. I run up the hill to the bike and get on it. From there it is rocks and dirt with cycling shoes to the mount line. Not fun at all. I was just hoping I wouldn't fall or let go of the bike. I take off on the bike with the new race wheels and I'm off. These women on the bike course didn't know how to ride at all. They stayed right instead of left and they wouldn't pass anyone and would ride next to them the whole time. I had to say a few times "you have to pass or drop back."

Finally the bike is over and I'm at the dismount line. Back on the rocks and dirt. I'm hoping I don't fall. I make it back to my racking spot and put my tennis shoes on. I get going on the run and I'm feeling pretty good. My knee isn't hurting and my legs feel fresh. I make it the first mile without stopping which is a great accomplishment for me as I always walk. I stop to refuel the water bottle and get going. Jane comes up on me and we start chatting and walking. Before we know it we are at mile 2 and we are still walking...oh well, this is all for fun. I come up on the bathroom and we part ways as I had to go. From there I continued and see Karen in her wonderful blue costume and she gives me a little more water to get me to the finish line.

I cross the line and I'm happy! I had a horrible time on the swim...a good bike ride...and fun run/walk. What more could you ask for.

T3 walked away with top finishing placing along with the most participants.







Wednesday, July 30, 2008

2nd month of Half-Ironman Training

Well I'm officially done with my second month of half-ironman training and I have to say it is getting a little easier as time marches on. I had a come to Jesus meeting with Coach Chrissie last night about my training if I could/would be ready for Ironman CDA and what the heck we are going to do with my horrible running...all in all, we are going to work on the running and worst case, i walk most of the run in an Ironman to cross the line to still be called "Ironman". So I was super pleased to hear that and ease my nerves with everything. Thanks Coach!

My race is November 9th down by Houston and I can't wait. I'm just wondering what my reaction will be when I cross that line after just completing 70.6 miles in one setting.

I have 3 months to polish everything and get stronger and more efficient. Time can only tell if this is going to be the case.

Sunday, June 8, 2008

Escape From Alcatraz

Let me just start by saying we had the best weather out in California that we could have ever wished for. Every day was sunny and clear with no fog.

We arrived in Cali on Wednesday and didn't do much except stop at In N Out and get us a burger.

Thursday we headed down to Monterey and saw the sites of Pebble Beach and the 17 mile drive.

Friday it all started to become real. We headed in to San Francisco to pick up my bike and drive the bike course. At this point I have no clue where the heck we are riding and I'm looking at the streets in San Fran just about to die. We pick up Alison and the bike and head out for a drive on the bike course. At this point there is no turning back or quiting nor do I want to. I've trained for the hills and I can handle this.

We get started stopping at about every picture perfect moment snapping pictures and taking it all in. We had the Golden Gate in view most of the bike and when that wasn't in view you had the back side of San Francisco coast and the ocean to look at. Just amazing. We keep driving and driving. We get to the end of the bike course and I'm thinking, wow, this is not going to be all that bad.

Saturday, we did the packet pickup and bought all kinds of gear for this race. We were good little athletes and attended the meeting that they had. From there is was all downhill and we were prepared and ready to get this done. That evening my family made posters for me for the race. I was so happy and excited for this support.

Sunday morning. I set my cell phone to go off at 4:15am, only to forget my phone is still on Texas time and I get up at 2:15am Cali time and start getting dressed. My husband says, go back to bed it is only 2:30am. I'm fully dressed and get back to sleep right away for two more hours. I get up and get my breakfast down and head into San Fran and meet up with the team. The swimmers were already on buses by this point so I didn't get to see Mike before the swim. David and I proceed to to find the marked spot for us. I go to air up my front tire and I did something and ripped the stem on the tube apart and had to change a tire. I get that all over with and we head to the shore to watch the swimmers jump from the boat at Alcatraz Island. We really couldn't see much until they got a little closer. And they were still specs in the water splashing around.

David and I then headed to back into to transition to wait for Mike. He came flying in handed me the chip and I took off. Half way down the chute and my water bottle between my aero bars comes out and I had to stop from the rough patches you have to run through. Oh well, I have to have it. I take about 30 seconds and fix it and I'm off.

The first two miles are pretty easy and everyone is just blowing past me. We get to our first hill and it is like everyone is being pulled backwards. At this point all those people who passed me are now at the hill struggling a little. We make it up it and we take off. There are lots of downhills on the first 9 miles than on the last 9 miles. The roads were really rough in sections but I managed. The ride was amazing and not that hard. The computrainer was much harder and I felt relieved. I make it back not even knowing what time I just did and passed it off to David. He takes off on the run. I figure I have about an hour and he will be back. I watched him cross the line and it was awesome.

All in all I recommend the race to everyone. I will go back after ironman and complete the whole thing. It is a beautiful course and well put together. I loved every minute of it.

Our times...
ATX ESCAPEES(for some reason the announcer could not say our team name when David crossed the finish line.)

Athlete Statistics(Mike Reichow) FYI...Mike was about less than a minute behind the winner of the race in the swim!
Start of Swim:
00:00:00
End of Swim:
00:25:50

Total Swim:
00:25:50

Transition:
00:06:59
Start of Bike:(Shawnda Freeman)
00:32:49
Midpoint of Bike:
01:15:08
End of Bike:
01:49:13

Total Bike:
01:16:24

Transition:
-
Start of Run:(David Babbitt)
-
Start Sand Ladder:
02:29:02
End Sand Ladder:
02:32:22
Total Sand Ladder:
00:03:20
End of Run:
02:59:29

Total Time: 02:59:29

I will post some pics later in the week.